You Mother Pucker Color Club


*Taps mic*…

So let’s get right into the meat and potatoes of this post. These 4 polishes are from the newly released collection by Color Club called Matte Rouge. I had such high hopes for this collection, but I was shortly disappointed about the performance of the formula as I applied these. To give it to you straight, the formula is very difficult to work with, it is very thick and applies in blobs. Even when I tried to apply a thin layer it still was thick as it was laying on my nails.

When I did the first layer it dries to like a textured appearance which gives it a wet dry sand look, by the looks of that you know that you’re going to need a second and third layer. This picture is of my nails with two layers. 

The only color that I didn’t have that much difficulty with is the orange one. It wasn’t AS thick, this one is called Perfect Pout– pretty right!!


This next one is the reason why I wanted these polishes, I loved how deep & grape purple the color is, but it is the thickest of the bunch–very difficult to apply. You can even see it on my nails that the layers are thick. This is Plum-P & Juicy


This pink was okay to apply, still thick but it was more manageable. This is Spin The Bottle (I wanted to do  more than spin this bottle lol).


Lastly this pink (which looks almost red in my pics) was a mother effer to apply! Just like the purple it is super thick and no matter how I tried to apply just a thin coat it still came out thick & blobby. This is Mother Pucker (how ironic lol)! 


It’s very unfortunate because I’m a huge fan of matte polishes (as I am of matte lipsticks as well). They retail for $8 of the Color Club website. However, this is just my experience with them, maybe I just got a bad batch; who knows. All I know is I’m over that whole swatch session lol.

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to follow me on these social networks 🙂 

2 thoughts on “You Mother Pucker Color Club

  1. Once my nail polishes get old and go gloopy (like they do) I put a drop of nail polish remover in the bottle and it thins them right out. I wonder if it would have the same effect here. Thank you for your efforts to review them 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

